Darker Shores

I think if I hadn’t called the blog Darker Skies, some fourteen-plus years ago now, I’d have probably called it Darker Shores as I always seem to gravitate toward shorelines during wild or moody weather.

I’m still slowly, very slowly, editing through my images shot around the Isle of Arran and Campbeltown and probably my favourite images were taken on a very wild and windy day. The timeless feel of the waves bashing against the rocks as the clouds move over the coastline or mountaintops makes you realize how very small you are in the scheme of things.

The first image was taken at the very empty ferry port at Claonaig. The wind has caused the ferry operator Caledonian MacBrayne (CalMac) to switch over to the winter route. The only thing moving at the port was the very busy windsock seen in the second image.

I just love the simplicity of taking in the view and the bad weather. Given how complicated and often angry the world seems to be currently, just getting a brief break from the ‘noise’ has a calming effect. I need to do it more often. We all probably do.


Discover more from The Darker Skies Photography Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.